h1

What are my reasons

August 9, 2009

In May I took the advice to write down the reasons you want to lose weight.    I have taken less to heart the instruction to look at those reasons when you struggle.   I went through my files and found my reasons:

  1. I want to have a family.
  2. I want to have more energy.
  3. I want to be able to buy any clothing that I want.
  4. I don’t want to feel self-conscious.
  5. I don’t want to have any more excuses not to go after what I want.
  6. I don’t want to die. 
  7. I want to feel sexy.
  8. I don’t want to be the fat friend.
  9. I want to be able to look at myself in the mirror.
  10. I want to be happy to be included in photographs.
  11. I want to be able to play soccer again.

 

At the bottom I wrote “what am I afraid of?”   

I should also add one more — I don’t want to feel like an addict, constantly engaging in subterfuge to satisfy my addiction (You know what I mean — pretending to buy chocolates as a “party gift” when the only party guest is me.)

I felt adrift and afraid in May when I wrote these goals.   I was convinced I would ultimately fail.   I’m so proud of myself for gathering my mental reserves and kicking ass!

One comment

  1. I made myself some posters to dot about the house with my reasons on them. I was particularly afraid, especially during the early stages that I would lose focus and having the reminders in prominent places helped at times of weakness.

    Anyone can diet for a week or two, it is sticking with it when the going gets tough that makes the difference – keep up the great work, it is really worth it!



Leave a Reply

