h1

Regrets, I’ve had a few

July 26, 2009

I was listening to an archived Jillian Michaels podcast that really struck a chord with me.  Jillian noted that she had to revise her previous edict that life should be lived without regrets because many people cannot do this — indeed, it is natural to feel regret or grieve over a perceived loss.   The key is to realize that the things that you feel the most regret about usually illustrate to you what you really want out out of life and to move forward with a conscious realization of getting what you want out of life.   She also made a very good point that feeling regret about something does not mean that what you want is lost forever, but rather feeling regret about something is actually telling you that it’s not too late.   I like that 

My regrets:

  • I am sad that I let myself go through my teens and twenties being significantly overweight.
  • I am sad that I have not had a long term relationship since college (!).
  • I am sad that I am not married with thoughts of children on the horizon.
  • I am sad that I can’t wear the clothes I want and feel comfortable in my body.
  • That I use food as a way to isolate myself sometimes.

It’s not too late for me.

2 comments

  1. Great post – yes, it is never too late. You are working on the weight and I hope you are making plans for the other things too!


  2. exactly, it is not too late. I spent the last year of my twenties dreading the idea that I was going to turn 30, still overweight so I did something about it.

    I spent my birthday at the lowest weight that I had ever been in the last three years. That itself was a great gift. It is impossible to be perfect 100%, allow yourself the slip up once in a way. Just make sure you pick yourself up and carry on there after. That marks the difference between succeeding and failing.



Leave a Reply

