h1

I can’t see myself

January 9, 2009

I can’t look at myself in the mirror.  

 The only mirrors in my house are neck up.   When I go to the bathroom at work, I do everything possible avoid glancing at the floor-to-ceiling mirrors.   I might catch a glimpse of my feet and then slowly work my way up, but about halfway up, I lose my nerve.  No matter w hat, I studiously avoid eye contact with myself.  

Today I was in the gym (a rare occurence as of late) and the trainer instructed me to look in the mirror when doing squats.   I just couldn’t.   I moved my head to make it look like I was looking in the mirror, all the while averting my gaze.  

It’s strange.   I think I have had a slight aversion to myself for years.

Leave a Reply

